Chapter 2: Chairs

Departments, Research Centers & Research Facilities



Basic Science Departments

Department Chair
Biochemistry & Molecular Genetics Anindya Dutta, MD, PhD
Biomedical Engineering Frederick H. Esptein, PhD
Cell Biology
Douglas DeSimone, PhD
Microbiology Kodi S. Ravichandran, BVSc, PhD
Molecular Physiology & Biological Physics Lukas Tamm, PhD
Neuroscience Jonathan Kipnis, PhD
Douglas A. Bayliss, PhD
Public Health Sciences
Ruth Gaare Bernheim, JD, MPH

Back to top


Clinical Departments

Department Chair
Anesthesiology George F. Rich, MD, PhD
Dentistry Brian Hoard, DDS
Dermatology Arturo P. Saavedra, MD, PhD, MBA
Emergency Medicine Robert E. O’Connor, MD
Family Medicine Susan M. Pollart, MD (Interim)
Medicine Mitchell H. Rosner, MD
Neurology Howard Goodkin, MD, MSc
Neurosurgery Mark E. Shaffrey, MD
Obstetrics & Gynecology James E. Ferguson, II, MD
Ophthalmology Peter A. Netland, MD, PhD
Orthopaedic Surgery A. Bobby Chhabra, MD
Otolaryngology Stephen S. Park, MD
Pathology Christopher A. Moskaluk, MD, PhD
Pediatrics James P. Nataro, MD, PhD, MBA
Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation Robert P. Wilder, MD
Plastic Surgery Thomas J. Gampper, MD
Psychiatry & Neurobehavioral Sciences Anita Clayton, MD
Radiation Oncology James M. Larner, MD
Radiology & Medical Imaging Alan H. Matsumoto, MD
Surgery Martha A. Zeiger, MD
Urology Raymond A. Costabile, MD

Back to top


Research Centers & Other Centers

Research Centers & Directors
Asthma and Allergic Diseases Center Thomas A. E. Platts-Mills, MD, PhD
Cancer Center Thomas Loughran, Jr., MD
Carter Immunology Center Thomas J. Braciale, MD, PhD
Center for Biomedical Ethics & Humanities Daniel M. Becker, MD
Center for Cell Signaling David L. Brautigan, PhD
Center for Global Health Richard L. Guerrant, MD
Center for Immunity, Inflammation, and Regenerative Medicine Mark D. Okusa, MD
Center for Public Health Genomics Stephen S. Rich, PhD
Center for Research in Contraceptive & Reproductive Health
Center for Research in Reproduction John C. Marshall, MD, PhD
Center for the Study of Neurodegenerative Diseases
Center on Health Disparities M. Norman Oliver, MD
Diabetes Center Eugene J. Barrett, MD, PhD
Human Immune Therapy Center Craig  L.  Slingluff, MD
International Health Care Worker Safety Center Janine C. Jagger, PhD, MPH
Medical Automation Research Center Robin A. Felder, PhD
David M. Rekosh, PhD
O’Brien Urologic Research Center
Paul Mellon Prostate Cancer Research Institute vacant
Robert M. Berne Cardiovascular Research Center Gary K. Owens, PhD

Centers of Excellence & Directors

Diabetes and Hormone Center of Excellence Alan C. Dalkin, MD
Digestive Health Center of Excellence Steven M. Cohn, MD, PhD; Carl L. Berg, MD (Interim Co-Directors)

Other Centers, Programs & Directors

Center for the Advancement of Generalist Medicine Susan M. Pollart, MD
Institute of Law, Psychiatry, and Public Policy Richard Bonnie, LLB
Center for Telehealth Karen S. Rheuban, MD

Back to top


Institutional Shared Research Facilities

Institutional Shared Research Facilities & Directors
Biomolecular Research Facility Jay W. Fox, PhD
Biorepository and Tissue Research Facility Christopher A. Moskaluk, MD,PhD
Center for Comparative Medicine Sanford H. Feldman, DVM, PhD
Advanced Microscopy Facility Jeffrey Corwin, PhD
Clinical Trials Office Lori J. Elder, RN
Flow Cytometry Core Facility Timothy P. Bender, PhD
Bioinformatics Core Jason A. Papin, PhD
Gene Targeting & Transgenic Facility J. Thomas Parsons, PhD
W.M. Keck Center for Cellular Imaging Ammasi Periasamy, PhD
Lymphocyte Culture Center
Molecular Imaging Center Brent A. French, PhD
Research Histology Core Kenneth S. Tung, MD
Tissue Culture Facility
PTAI: Preclinical Tumor Analysis and Imaging Jay W. Fox, PhD

Back to top