The Critical Incident Analysis Group (CIAG)

University of Virginia School of Medicine
PO Box 800657
Charlottesville, Virginia 22908-0657
email to:


CIAG Management and Staff

Gregory B. Saathoff, M.D.
Executive Director

Christopher P. Holstege MD
Chairman – CIAG Steering Committee

Staff Cadre (2020)

Maihan Far Alam
Stella Connaughton
Robert Hodgson

Advisory Board

John, Lord Alderdice
Member, House of Lords

Edwin Meese III
Ronald Reagan Distinguished Fellow in Public Policy, The Heritage Foundation
Former United States Attorney General

Charles S. Robb
Governor – Commonwealth of Virginia (1982-1986)
Senator – Commonwealth of Virginia (1989-2001)

Former Advisory Board Members

S. Ward Casscells MD
Assistant Secretary of Defense for Health Affairs (2007-2009)
John E. Tyson Distinguished Professor of Medicine and Public Health
Vice President for External Affairs and Public Policy
University of Texas at Houston

Secretary Lawrence Eagleburger
U.S. Secretary of State (1992-1993)

John O. Marsh, Jr.
Former Member of Congress – VA (1962-1970)
Secretary of the Army (1981-1989)
Winchester, Virginia

General Edward L. Rowny
Lt. General (retired)
Former Ambassador and Arms Control Negotiator