

DEBRA G. PERINA, MD, FACEP 2020 Dr. Forrest D. McCoig Career Achievement Award

WHEREAS, Dr. Perina is recognized as a national leader in emergency medicine, having served on the board of national ACEP as well as being chairwoman of the board,

WHEREAS, Dr. Perina has served on multiple committees in ABEM including the board of directors as well as serving as it's 30th president,

WHERAES, Dr. Perina served as emergency medicine faculty and the EMS fellowship program director at the University of Virginia,

WHEREAS, Dr. Perina has been a national leader in CME accreditation by serving as chair of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education,

WHEREAS, Dr. Perina has been both a state and national leader in trauma and prehospital care,

WHEREAS, Dr. Perina has been recognized as an advocate and leader for mental health in Virginia,

WHEREAS, Dr. Perina has unselfishly dedicated an amazing about of her time helping shape the future of emergency medicine and mentoring the next generation of emergency physicians both in Virginia and across the country,

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Virginia College of Emergency Physicians presents the first Dr. Forrest P. McCoig Career Achievement Award to Dr. Debra G. Perina, MD, FACEP for his tremendous contributions to emergency medicine.

Dr. K. Scott Hickey, MD, FACEP President, Virginia College of Emergency Physicians February 8, 2020 Hot Springs, Virginia