Kendig Research Award

The University of Virginia and the Department of Pediatrics are very grateful to Dr. and Mrs. Edwin L. Kendig, Jr., who established The Edwin and Mary Kendig Fund in 1989 to stimulate pediatric research for fellows-in-training at the University of Virginia.

Named in honor of Dr. Kendig’s parents, this gift has been instrumental in the development of the UVA Children’s Hospital Research Symposium and continues to recognize pediatric fellows for their achievements in clinical and basic science research.

Dr. Edwin Kendig was a 1936 graduate of the UVA Medical School and became a pioneer in the study of respiratory disorders in children, with a special interest in childhood tuberculosis and sarcoidosis. He was the first editor of the premier textbook dealing with pediatric pulmonary disorders in North America: Kendig’s Disorders of the Respiratory Tract in Children. Now in its seventh edition, this text is a leading source of information about airway diseases in children throughout the world.

Prior to his death, Dr. Kendig regularly attended Research Day to present the Kendig Award. His remarkable accomplishments as an investigator, pediatrician, and pulmonary specialist will continue to serve as an inspiration for anyone whose career is devoted to the health of children.

Since 1997, a single Kendig Research Award has been given to a fellow for excellence in clinical or basic science research during fellowship. Success in research is based on letters from mentors, manuscripts submitted or accepted for publication, and grants awarded during the fellowship.

Award Recipients

2011 – Susan Demartini, M.D., Endocrinology

2010 – Christopher Clarke, M.D., Cardiology

2009 – Laurissa Kashmer, M.D., Endocrinology

2008 – Michael McCulloch, M.D., Cardiology

2007 – Christopher Davis, M.D., Cardiology

2006 – Santina Zanelli, M.D., Neonatology

2005 – Alix Paget-Brown, M.D., Neonatology

2004 – Andrew Herman, M.D., Neonatology

2003 – Maury Pinsk, M.D., Nephrology

2002 – François Cachat, M.D., Nephrology

2001 – Erick Richmond, M.D., Endocrinology

2000 – John Hunt, M.D., Allergy/Pulmonary

1999 – Lisa Houchin, M.D., Endocrinology

1998 – Naomi Gauthier, M.D., Cardiology

1997 – Polly Ferguson, M.D., Immunology

From 1989 to 1996, Kendig Research Awards were given for Outstanding Presentations at Research Day. Listings below are in descending order: First place, Second place, Third place.



Lisa Samson-Fang, M.D., Developmental Pediatrics
Felice Heller, M.D., Cardiology
Naomi Gauthier, M.D., Cardiology

Felice Heller, M.D., Cardiology
William Hammill, M.D., Cardiology
Susan Coniglio, M.D., Developmental Pediatrics

Vandana Shashi, M.D., Genetics
Daniel Bonthius, M.D., Neuroscience
Alda Tufro, M.D., Nephrology

Marshall Whit Walker, M.D., Neonatology
Gary Weyman Price, M.D., Allergy
Vandana Shashi, M.D., Genetics (3rd)
Alda Tufro, M.D., Nephrology (3rd)


Frances Northington, M.D., Neonatology
Victoria Norwood, M.D., Nephrology
Nancy Wright, M.D., Endocrinology

Allen Everett, M.D., Cardiology
Frances Northington, M.D., Neonatology
Francisco Nieves Rivera, M.D., Endocrinology

Shannon Sullivan, M.D., Neonatology
Frances Northington, M.D., Neonatology
James Kerrigan, M.D., Endocrinology

Nancy McDaniel, M.D., Cardiology
Deborah Cloney, M.D., Gastroenterology
John Ziegler, M.D., Infectious Disease