Dr. Wladek Minor receives award from University of Warsaw and American Friends of the University of Warsaw

The annual UW-AFUW award is given to UW graduates who are active in the development of Polish science in the USA. This year’s award goes to Dr. Wladek Minor of the University of Virginia. ( https://washington.mfa.gov.pl/en/news/graduates_and_friends_of_the_university_of_warsaw_reunion;jsessionid=FAA96350EA82E2BB3621D360D10F6DBF.cmsap5p)

Dr. Owen Pornillos Has Been Elected a Pinn Scholar

Congratulations to the 2019 Class of Pinn Scholars, named this month.  Pinn Scholars are selected on the basis of their scientific expertise and contributions to the School of Medicine and to the greater research community. Pinn Scholars are expected to develop a new project or direction in their research and share their results at an annual symposium.

The new Pinn scholars and their projects are:

Mazhar Adli, PhD
Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics
“Identifying synthetic lethal partners of recurrent cancers mutations through massively parallel combinatorial double knockout genetic screens”

Charles Farber, PhD
Public Health Sciences/Center for Public Health Genomics
“Developing a Predictive Gene Regulatory Network for Osteoporosis”

Maria Luisa Sequeira-Lopez, MD
“The fate of renin and renin progenitor cells in the bone marrow”

Owen Pornillos, PhD
Molecular Physiology & Biological Physics
“Molecular mechanisms of HIV-1 replication”

The new scholars will be introduced at the Annual School of Medicine Symposium on Research Excellence on Wednesday, February 6, 2019, from 2:00-5:30 PM in the Pinn Hall Conference Center Auditorium.  The symposium will feature the work of the first two classes of Pinn Scholars, as well as some recent faculty recruits.

Dr. Wladek Minor and Dr. Lukas Tamm Elected Fellows of the American Society for the Advancement of Science

The American Association for the Advancement of Science on Tuesday named five University of Virginia professors among its 2018 class of fellows. Election as a fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers.

The faculty members are: Craig H. Benson, professor of civil and environmental engineering and dean of the School of Engineering; Douglas W. DeSimone, professor and chair of cell biology; Wladek Minor, professor of molecular physiology and biological physics; Brian A. Nosek, professor of psychology; and Lukas K. Tamm, professor and chair of molecular physiology and biological physics.

The latest elections bring to 38 the number of UVA faculty members named as AAAS fellows … read more