Clerkship Contacts

Medicine


Director: Dr. Molly Hughes mah3x@Virginia.EDU
Phone: 434/924-5216

Assistant Director: Dr. Alex Millard asm3n@virginia.edu

Phone: 434/924-4288

Assistant: Karen Ward krw5v@virginia.edu

Phone 434/293-9397
Mail: PO Box 800513
Fax: 434/982-4007
Location: Carter Harrison Building #1704

Ambulatory Internal Medicine (part of Medicine Clerkship)


AIM Dir: Evan Heald, ebh3a@Virginia.EDU 2-3458 (cell) 434-465-0332
Coordinator: LeAnn Hopkins, 434-982-2516 (cell) 434-882-2995
Mail: PO Box 800744
Location: UMA, 1222 JPA

 

Surgery

Co-Dirs: Linda Martin, lm6yb@Virginia.EDU 3-6443 (cell) 410-707-6975
Assist-Dir: Jeffrey Gander, jg9br@Virginia.EDU 4-9302 (cell) 434-981-3251
Coordinator: Heather Trainum, hms5g@virginia.edu 4-5771 (cell) 434-284-3811
Mail: PO Box 800709
Location: Surgery Department, Private Clinics Bldg.

 

Pediatrics

Dir: Jeremy Middleton, jpm8k@virginia.edu 4-2457 (cell) 434-282-5360
Assist-Dir: William G. Wilson, wgw@virginia.edu 4-2665 (cell) 434-996-8171
Coordinator: Marlo Meyer, mme4a@Virginia.EDU (cell) 434- 466-1939
Mail: PO Box 800386
Location: Private Clinics Building

 

Family Medicine


FM Dir: Catherine Casey, cc5ds@virginia.EDU 3-0700 (cell) 607-342-0367
(Wanda Hudson – Assistant 4-1609)
Coordinator: LeAnn Hopkins, 434-982-2516 (cell) 434-882-2995
Assist-Dir: Annie Way

Psychiatry


Dir: Pamila A. Herrington, pah5g@virginia.edu 4-2241 (cell) 434-962-0118
Assist-Dir: Meredith Lee, msl6e@virginia.edu 4-2241 (cell) ___________
Coordinator: Rebecca Hensley, raj9n@Virginia.EDU 2-4113 (cell) 434-996-8221
Mail: PO Box 800623
Location: West Complex, 3rd Floor

Obstetrics and Gynecology


Dir: Katherine Latimer, kal7r@Virginia.EDU ______ (cell)240-505-6816
Assist-Dir: Yvonne Newberry, ygn7w@virginia.edu PIC 4146 (cell) 434-825-6031
Coordinator: Shawnell McCreary, sh4er@Virginia.EDU
Mail: PO Box 800712
Location: Private Clinics Building, Room 3737

 

Neurology


Dir: Binit Shah, bbs7s@virginia.edu 243-3908 (cell) 312-636-3865
Assist-Dir: Davis Lapides
Coordinator: KarenMarie Smith, kc8d@Virginia.EDU 4-5548 (cell) 434-960-7907
Mail: PO Box 800394 (home) 540-672-3872
Location: McKim Hall, Room 2131

 

Geriatric Medicine 


Dir: Huai Y. Cheng, HYC9J@hscmail.mcc.virginia.edu 3-9397 (cell) 718-753-5493
Assist-Dir: Justin Mutter, jbm4n@virginia.edu ______ (cell)434-249-9091

Effective 1/1/19:

Co Directors:  Justin Mutter, jbm4n@virginia.edu ______ (cell)434-249-9091

and Christina Tieu , ct7qf@virginia.edu


Coordinator: Karen Ward, krw5v@Virginia.EDU 3-9397 (cell) 434-981-4522
Mail: PO Box 800901
Location: Hospital West, 6th Floor

Peri-Operative Medicine


Dir: Vaia Abatzis, vta4n@virginia.edu 4-2283 (cell) 434-989-0951
Assist-Dir: John McNeil, jsm6j@virginia.edu
Coordinator: Lisa Morton, lm7cb@virginia.edu 4-9454 (cell) 434-409-5838
Mail: 800715
Location: Old Medical School Building, Room 4748

Emergency Medicine 


Dir: Amita Sudhir, as2cd@Virginia.EDU 4-8485 (cell) 434-825-4513
Assist-Dir: Heather Streich, hts3r@virginia.edu 4-8485
Coordinator : Kyle Williams, kew6k@virginia.edu 4-1169 (cell) 434-964-6196+
Mail: 800699
Location: Multi-Story Building, 2nd Floor

Surgery Subspecialties


CO-DIRS: Ashok Asthagiri, ara5x@virginia.edu (cell)434-989-7091
Jonathan Black, jsb8r@virginia.edu (cell) 434-681-6776
Coordinator: Nell Harlow-Brooks, nh3k@virginia.edu 3-7268

Ophthalmology

Dir: Laura Cook, led2c@virginia.edu 4-1184
Coordinator: Debbie Perry, dap2b@virginia.edu 2-1696
Mail: PO Box 800715 Charlottesville, VA 22908

Plastic Surgery

Dir: Jonathan Black, jsb8r@virginia.edu (cell) 402-681-6776
Coordinator: Freda McClung, fm3s@virginia.edu 4-1234
Mail: PO Box 800376 Charlottesville, VA 22908

Orthopedic Surgery

Dir: Aaron Freilich, amf7z@virginia.edu 3-0067 (cell) 000-000-0000
Assistant: Vickie Blackwell, vlw7d@virginia.edu 3-0067
Coordinator: David Craig, dec2a@virginia.edu 3-0265
Mail: PO Box 800159 Charlottesville, VA 22908

Neurosurgery

Dir: Ashok Asthagiri, ara5x@virginia.edu 4-1843 (cell) 434-989-7091
Coordinator: Nell Harlow-Brooks, nh3k@virginia.edu 3-7268
Mail: PO Box 800212 Charlottesville, VA 22908

Otolaryngology

Dir: Katherine Fedder, klf2e@virginia.edu 4-5934
Assist-Dir: VACANT, @virginia.edu
Assistant: Tina (Vest) Cross, tlc4e@virginia.edu 4-5934
Mail: PO Box 800713 Charlottesville, VA 22908

Urology

Dir: Ryan Smith, rps2k@hscmail.mcc.virginia.edu 4-9566 (cell) 434-284-2197
Coordinator: Melissa Gonzales, mg6vz@virginia.edu 2-6279
Mail: PO Box 800422 Charlottesville, VA 22908

Affiliate Site Chief Medical Directors

Dr. Barbara Haskins (Western State) Barbara.Haskins@dbhds.virginia.gov
Dr. Rebecca Stackhouse (Salem, Med. Ctr. Dir.) Rebecca.Stackhouse2@va.gov
Dr. Craig Cheifetz (Inova) Craig.Cheifetz@inova.org

SALEM VA MEDICAL CENTER

Dir: Medhi Kazemi, Mehdi.Kazemi@va.gov 540-982-2463 ext. 2100
Coordinator: Teanna Hutton, Teanna.Hutton@med.va.gov 540-982-2463 ext. 2390
Mail: VA Medical Center (00), 1970 Roanoke Blvd. Salem, VA 24153

Medicine

Dir: Thomas Martin, Thomas.Martin4@va.gov 540-982-2463 ext. 1001
Coordinator: Linda Ferguson-Saunders, Linda.ferguson-Saunders@va.gov 540-982-2463 ext. 2204
Mail: VA Medical Center (111), 1970 Roanoke Blvd. Salem, VA 24153

Psychiatry
Dir: James Wickham, James.Wickham@va.gov 540-982-2463 ext. 1652 (cell)540-589-0296
Coordinator: Timothy Shephard timothy.shephard@va.gov 540-982-2463 ext. 1652
Mail: VA Medical Center (111), 1970 Roanoke Blvd. Salem, VA 24153

Surgery
Dir: Gary Collin, Gary.Collin@va.gov 540-982-2246
Assist-Dir:Albert Weed, Albert.weed@va.gov
Coordinator: Chelsea Dawson, Chelsea.Dawson@va.gov 540-982-2463 ext. 4888,
(cell) 757-710-8707 Mail: VA Medical Center (111), 1970 Roanoke Blvd. Salem, VA 24153

Ambulatory Internal Medicine
Dir: Thomas Eldridge, Thomas.eldridge@va.gov 540-982-2463 ext. 1500
Coordinator: A.J. Scott, AJ.Scott@va.gov 540-9982-2463 ext.1500
Mail: VA Medical Center (111), 1970 Roanoke Blvd. Salem, VA 24153

 

FAIRFAX HOSPITAL (INOVA)

Pediatrics
Dir: Darshita Bhatia, Darshita.Bhatia@inova.org 703-776-7652
Assist-Dir:Natalie McKnight, Natalie.McKnight@inova.org
Assist-Dir: Komal Bajaj, Komal.Bajaj@inova.org
Coordinator: Brandy Heard, brandy.heard@inova.org 703-776-6567
Mail: 3300 Gallows Road Falls Church, VA 22042

Bon Secours (Richmond)

Pediatrics

Dir: Liz Aarons, lizmaarons@gmail.com (cell) 804-512-3124
Coordinator: Maria Akens, Maria_Akens@bshsi.org 804-281-8222 (on leave)
Mail: 4050 Innslake Dr. #307 Glen Allen, VA 23060

OB/GYN
Dir: Stephen Bendheim, Stephen.bendheim@vpfw.com 804-281-8222 (cell) 804-301-9259
Coordinator: Christy Schwartz, Christy_schwartz@bshsi.org 804-281-8222 (cell) 804-591-6501)
Mail: 4050 Innslake Dr. #307 Glen Allen, VA 23060

Western State

Psychiatry

Dir: Ann Walling, Ann.walling@DBHDS@virginia.gov 540-332-8169 (cell) 617-953-7438
Coordinator: VACANT
Mail: 103 Valley Center Drive Staunton, VA 24401