Curriculum Committee Minutes 1/22/18

January 25, 2018 by

University of Virginia School of Medicine

Curriculum Committee

Minutes – 1.22.18

MCBR, #2700 -4:00 p.m.

Present (underlined) were:

Chair (votes only to break a tie): Megan Bray

Voting: Juliana Bueno, Donna Chen, Aaron Freilich, Barry Hinton, Rachel Kon, Robin LeGallo, Keith Littlewood, Vishal Madaan, Juan Olazagasti, Margaret Plews-Ogan, Steven Powell, Theresa Schlager, Neeral Shah, Ryan Smith, Carlos Tache-Leon, Stephen Wolf

Students: John Hickman, Elizabeth Hoang, Ory Streeter, Rick Vavolizza

Non-voting: Gretchen Arnold, Elizabeth Bradley, Maryellen Gusic, Mark Moody, Selina Noramly, Bill Wilson

Staff: Bobbi May

Minutes Reviewed/Accepted. The Committee unanimously approved the minutes from the January 8, 2018 meeting.

ACE Reviews Completed/Finalized:

Emergency General Surgery. Director: Dr. Michael Williams. Reviewers: Drs. Stephen Wolf and Rachael Kon. Dr. Kon presented the review on behalf of her and Dr. Wolf.

Strengths of ACE as outlined in report:

  • Well organized, variety of clinical settings
  • Students able to place orders in EMR.
  • Significant one-on-one contact with attending and chief resident.
  • Significant opportunity to serve as first assist in operative cases.
  • New Tele-surgery consult mechanism allows for direct observation of H&P.
  • Students appear to be well integrated into clinical activities.
  • Leadership demonstrates commitment to medical education.

The recommendation from the reviewers is that this elective remains an ACE, with a follow-up in one year to track progress on Actions Required. If required actions are not met, the ACE will be downgraded to an elective. A formal written review was submitted to CC.


Neurosurgery. Director: Dr. Ashok Asthagiri.   Reviewers: Dr. William Wilson.  Dr. Wilson’s report found this rotation to meet the outlined criteria set for an ACE.

Strengths of ACE as outlined in report:

  • Strong commitment by some of the faculty for teaching.
  • Broad outpatient and OR experiences for students in Neurosurgery.
  • Wide variety of cases.

The recommendation from the reviewers is that this elective remains an ACE. A formal written review was submitted to CC.

Final ACE Vote.

A motion was made to accept all ACEs for upcoming year. The Committee voted and unanimously approved all current ACEs to retain their status. A one year follow-up on “Actions Required” will ensure changes have been made on the following ACEs:

  1. Emergency General Surgery
  2. Critical Care Medicine (SICU)
  3. Plastic Surgery
  4. Family Medicine
  5. Pediatric Surgery

ACE Proposal – Student Health as an ACE. A proposal for a new Advanced Clinical Elective was offered. Committee Members discussion centered on the faculty who would be in charge of supervising and evaluating the students on this ACE as it was proposed under the Internal Medicine heading and supervisor is a Pediatrician. This aspect of the ACE was unclear and Members requested a list of faculty who would be charged with this task. This proposal will be brought back to the Committee for additional discussion and vote once more information is available.

Health Policy Thread Leader Nomination – B. Cameron Webb. Dr. Carolyn Engelhard is stepping down as Thread Leader for “Health Policy, Population Health, and Health Systems Thread.” Dr. Ruth Gaare Bernheim, Chair, Department of Health and Public Sciences, offered a letter of nomination for Dr. Webb to fill this vacancy. Dr. Webb holds both an MD and a JD and has long-standing clinical, teaching, and research interests in health policy and population health, particularly with regard to health disparities, the importance of place in influencing health, and the social determinants of health. As the current Thread Leader, Carolyn will continue through the 2017-2018 academic year and then provide support to Cameron as he takes on the leadership role beginning in July and through the 2018-2019 academic year.

Vote: The Committee voted unanimously to approve Dr. B. Cameron Webb as the new Health Policy Thread Leader.

3rd Semester Pre-Clerkship Change: Endo/Repro Swap with Hematology. The next Generation Curriculum which houses these systems has been in place for about 7 years. The scheduling of these systems has prevented some faculty from attending their national specialty seminars and conferences throughout the years. In effort to resolve this issue, and allow for more equitability, multiple meetings of system leaders have occurred. The decision to recommend a one year switch in the timing of endocrine/reproductive and hematology was suggested. Further revisions of pre-clerkship phase of our curriculum are anticipated after a March 23rd all day retreat and therefor the recommendation is only for a single year.

Vote: The Committee voted unanimously to accept the exchange of time schedule between Endo-Repro and Hematology for the fall of 2018.

Clerkship Grading Recommendations. Dr. Bray explained to the Committee the importance and difficult process of aligning Clerkship Grading components over the past 2 years. The standardization of these components, especially regarding how the student clinical OASIS evaluation is calculated across clerkships is imperative. In order to facilitate this standardization- she proposed that there would be a single OASIS student evaluation form used by every clerkship and then offered how it would be converted into a mathematical grade for the clinical component of clerkship’s grades.  She also reviewed a single grade scale that all CD’s would utilize to assign a student’s  FINAL grade for their clerkships.  This information had been previously presented to and accepted by the Assessment Committee earlier in the day.  This process will make the grading process more streamlined and transparent for the students. The Committee discussed the issues of this change at length. Students present were supportive of the recommendations.

Vote: The Committee voted by majority to accept these grading change recommendations as presented and previously endorsed by the Assessment Committee.


Note: The next Curriculum Committee meeting will be held on Monday, January 29, 2018 in MCBR, #2700.


Filed Under: 2018, Curriculum Committee Minutes