Curriculum Committee Minutes 9/17/18

September 25, 2018 by

University of Virginia School of Medicine

Curriculum Committee

Minutes – 9.17.18

MCBR, #2700 -4:00 p.m.

Present (underlined) were:

Chair (votes only to break a tie): Megan Bray

Voting: Juliana Bueno, Donna Chen, Katharine DeGeorge, Aaron Freilich, Fern Hauck, Barry Hinton, Paul Kunk, Robin LeGallo, Keith Littlewood, Vishal Madaan, Juan Olazagasti, Margaret Plews-Ogan, Steven Powell, Neeral Shah, Ryan Smith, Carlos Tache-Leon

Students: Brielle Gerry, Vat Patel, Ory Streeter, Erin Adonnino, John Popovich

Non-voting: Gretchen Arnold, Elizabeth Bradley, Maryellen Gusic, Mark Moody, Selina Noramly, Bill Wilson

Staff: Bobbi May

Guests: Jim Martindale

Minutes Reviewed/Accepted. The Committee unanimously approved the minutes from the September 10, 2018 meeting.

 Assessment Committee Update. Dr. Jim Martindale, Chair, of the Assessment Committee, was present to discuss curricular changes and answer any questions related to decisions made by the Committee since his last update.

 ACE Review Follow-up. ACE reviews are conducted bi-annually and during the previous year’s reviews, five electives were earmarked for a follow-up in one year. Curriculum Committee Members were notified that the final reviews from last year will be forwarded for referral of “actions required.” Reviewers were asked to report progress toward those actions and complete their follow-up as soon as possible since any changes could affect the electives offered.

Residents as Teachers Training Documentation. Data on resident and fellow attendance was provided by Diane Farineau, in our GME office; to confirm that all incoming residents and fellows fulfilled their mandatory “Residents as Teachers” training requirements in 2018.

Vote: The Committee voted to unanimously approve the reports from the GME office confirming that all residents and fellows have completed their mandatory training requirements in 2018.

Nomination: Clerkship Director, Emergency Medicine – James Moak, MD, RDMS. Dr. Moak’s CV was circulated electronically for review prior to the 9/10 meeting. Dr. Moak was newly elected as the Assistant Director of the Clerkship in June. Dr. Robert O’Conner, Chair of Emergency Medicine, offered the highest recommendation of Dr. Moak to assume this new role.

Vote: The Committee voted unanimously to approve Dr. James Moak as the Clerkship Director for Emergency Medicine.

Vice Chair Nominations. At-Large Committee Members were asked to offer nominations for the position of Vice Chair of the Committee. At-Large Members were provided nomination information by electronic vote.

Vote: The Committee voted unanimously to approve Dr. Ryan Smith as the Vice Chair of the Curriculum Committee.



Note: The next Curriculum Committee meeting will be held on Monday, September 24, 2018 in MCBR, #2700.

Filed Under: 2018, Curriculum Committee Minutes