Congratulations to Dr. Michael Wiener – William M. Keck Foundation Award Winner

Dr. Michael Wiener has been awarded a three-year, $1 million award from the William M. Keck Foundation to develop a new and better way to map out the submicroscopic world.  More information here. … [Read more...]

Leading Science Organization Adds Five More From UVA as Fellows – Including two from CMCP

Our Center Director and Chair of Molecular Physiology, Dr. Lukas Tamm (far right), and colleagues Dr. Wladek Minor (left) and Center member and Chair of Cell Biology, Dr. Doug DeSimone (center),   recently elected as AAAS Fellows.  To read about all five UVa faculty named as more. … [Read more...]

Inviting applications for Tenured/Tenure-Track Faculty Positions (Open Rank)

The Center for Membrane and Cell Physiology at the University of Virginia invites applications for tenured/tenure-track faculty positions in High-Resolution Live-Cell and Tissue Imaging. Live-cell and super-resolution imaging are undergoing a revolution and the University of Virginia seeks to position itself at the forefront of these developments by building a team of creative and highly collaborative scientists developing and employing such methods to solve important biomedical problems. Successful candidates will be resident members of the Center for Membrane and Cell Physiology with an … [Read more...]

CMCP Congratulates Three American Heart Association Fellowship Winners!

CMCP faculty members, Dr. Swapnil Sonkusare and Dr. Lukas Tamm, have the pleasure to announce winners of prestigious American Heart Association Fellowships. From the Sonkusare Lab, Dr. Kwangseok Hong, received his AHA postdoctoral fellowship for his work on "Obesity-induced impairment of endothelial TRPV4 channel function”. Also from the Sonkusare Lab, Graduate student, Corina Marziano, has been awarded an AHA predoctoral fellowship. The title of Corina's AHA predoctoral fellowship is "Novel purinergic receptor-TRPV4 signaling in small pulmonary arteries". In the Tamm Lab, Dr. Raghu … [Read more...]

Two CMCP Faculty Members Honored as 2018 Pinn Scholars

  Congratulations to CMCP Faculty: Alison K. Criss, PhD Microbiology, Immunology, and Cancer Biology Neutrophilic inflammation due to Neisseria gonorrhoea infection Jeffrey J. Saucerman, PhD Biomedical Engineering Systems biology of cardiac regeneration   "The Pinn Scholars program, which started last year, is an initiative born from strategic planning to support and recognize our mid-level faculty. Pinn Scholars are selected on the basis of their scientific expertise and contributions to the School of Medicine and to the greater research community. Pinn Scholars are … [Read more...]

Huiwang Ai: Powerful Glow Lights the Way to Medical Breakthroughs, by Joshua Barney

Thank you to Joshua Barney for this enthusiastic article written about Center for Membrane and Cell Physiology Professor, Huiwang Ai who is working on promising breakthroughs in bioluminescence technology. To read the article: Newsroom   … [Read more...]

Advocating Science – Biophysical Society on Capitol Hill

Lukas Tamm, President of the Biophysical Society and Director of the Center for Membrane and Cell Physiology did just that... Bill Gates and Francis Collins (Director of NIH and UVa alumnus who grew up in Staunton and was a UVa Chemistry major) recently spoke to a group of geneticists about compelling advances in several areas of biomedical research, see In his concluding remarks, Collins made a pointed plea to the assembled geneticists: meet one-on-one with members of … [Read more...]

Congratulations to Huiwang Ai – winner of the Toxicology Young Investigator Award, ACS

Congratulations to Dr. Huiwang Ai, winner of the 2017 American Chemical Society, Division of Toxicology,  Young Investigators Award. Dr. Ai joined the Center for Membrane & Cell Physiology in August of this year. His award was for “applying innovative chemical technologies to the solution of important toxicology problems“. For further details on this honor, please click here to see the Division of Chemical Toxicology ACS website.   … [Read more...]