Past Jill E. Hungerford Award Winners

YearWinnersDepartmentMentorResearch Title
2019Greg MedlockBiomedical EngineeringJason PapinMetabolic Interactions and Capabilities within Microbial Communities
2018Molly Kelly-GossBiomedical EngineeringShayn Peirce-CottlerThe Role and Use of Heterogeneity in Microvascular Instability
2017Joshua HeusleinBiomedical EngineeringRichard PriceMechanisms of Amplified Arteriogenesis: The Role of Flow Direction, DNA methylation, and microRNA
2016Emily BillingsMicrobiologyJim CasanovaThe adhesion GPCR BAI1 mediates macrophage ROS production and microbicidal activity against Gram-negative bacteria
2015Adam DixonBiomedical EngineeringJohn HossackSimultaneous photoacoustic microscopy of microvascular anatomy, oxygen saturation, and blood flow
2014Chelsi SnowBiochemistry and Molecular GeneticsBryce PaschalThe molecular basis of aging in the premature aging syndrome, Hutchinson-Gildford Progeria Syndrome
2013Amelia HuffordMicrobiology, Immunology & Cancer BiologyKodi RavichandranThe Role of Cell Death in Muscle Development
2012Jason H. Y. YangBiomedical EngineeringJeffrey SaucermanNuclear PKA signaling in cardiac myocytes
2011Matthew T. HuffordMicrobiology, Immunology & Infectious DiseaseThomas BracialeInvestigating the Role of Co-stimulatory Molecule Signaling on CD4+ T Cell Effector Activity During Influenza Infection
2010Matthew A. OberhardtBiomedical EngineeringJason PapinGenome-scale Analysis of Pathogenicity in Pseudomonas aeruginosa
2009Amanda Doran, MD/PhDMolecular PhysiologyCollen McNamaraThe Helix Loop Helix Factors Id3 and E47 are Novel Regulators of Adiponectin
2008Daeho ParkMolecular, Cell and Developmental BiologyKodi RavichandranBAI1 is an Engulfment Receptor for Apoptotic Cells Upstream of ELMO1/Dock180/Rac Signal Module
2007Allison BergPharmacologyDouglas BaylissBackground and Receptor-Modulated Ion Channels in Cholinergic Neurons
2006Oliver McDonaldMedical School/PhysiologyGary OwensEpigenetic Control of Smooth Muscle Differentiation
2005Michelle KofronBiomedical EngineeringCato LaurencinGene Therapy for Bone Regeneration

About the Hungerford Award