2014 Isakson Mentoring Award goes to Thurl Harris!

October 3, 2014 by

At the 2014 Pharmacology Retreat on Wednesday, October 1st, Thurl Harris was announced as the 2014 Peter Isakson Mentoring Award recipient for his excellent work with Pharmacology Graduate Student Garrett Mullins. This marks the second time Dr. Harris has received this prestigious award; his work with James Eaton, Ph.D., was recognized when he received the Isakson Award in 2012.

Garrett says that working with Dr. Harris is about “more than just mentoring us in science, he is a great life mentor” and he “tailors his mentoring style to benefit each individual” in the lab. Dr. Harris’s colleagues say that “Thurl thinks that everyone’s experiment is the greatest experiment ever done and his excitement and positive attitude are infectious,” that “Thurl is unfailingly enthusiastic about science…and couples enthusiasm with great energy…and devotion to his students,” and that he really “bolsters people up and promotes their success.”

This award includes a financial component, which will be used to send Garrett to the 2015 American Clinical Chemistry Association conference.

The Isakson Award is made possible thanks to a generous gift from Pharmacology alumnus David Goodman, Ph.D. (class of 1993). Dr. Goodman is the CEO of Pharmascience Inc. and this award honors his Ph.D. mentor, Peter Isakson (Vice President, Abbott Laboratories).