PSTG Preceptors Brant Isakson and Shayn Peirce-Cottler Receive Inaugural Pinn Scholars Award!

December 19, 2016 by

Congratulations to PSTG Preceptors Brant Isakson, PhD and Shayn Peirce-Cottler, PhD on being named among the recipients of the Inaugural Pinn Scholars Award. The Pinn Scholars program was designed to support and recognize mid-level faculty in the School of Medicine and is named in honor of Dr. Vivian Pinn, the only woman and only African American graduate of the UVA School of Medicine Class of 1967.
Award recipients were chosen on the basis of their past research accomplishments and a proposed research project, to take their work in novel directions. The winners are:

Brant Isakson, PhD
Associate Professor, Molecular Physiology & Biological Physics
Project: Identification and characterization of Zika virus interaction with host endothelial cells using intravital microscopy

Shayn Pierce-Cottler, PhD
Professor, Biomedical Engineering
Project: The role of vascular pericytes in the regulation of inflammation, vascularization, and fibrosis

Gordon W. Laurie, PhD
Professor, Cell Biology
Project: Development of a structural model of ocular homeostasis to support the development of candidate drugs for dry eye disease

Jochen Zimmer, PhD
Associate Professor, Molecular Physiology & Biological Physics
Project: Characterization of how microbial pathogens and symbionts produce capsular polysaccharides