Isakson Award Sends Brittany Martinez to the Gordon Research Conference

March 29, 2018 by

The Isakson Award recognizes young faculty who provide excellent mentoring to their graduate students. This award is made possible thanks to a generous gift from Pharmacology alumnus David Goodman, Ph.D.(class of 1993). Dr. Goodman is the CEO of Pharmascience Inc. and this award honors his Ph.D. mentor, Peter Isakson (former Vice President, Abbott Laboratories).

Dr. Michelle Bland was nominated by one of her first graduate student, Brittany Martinez in 2017, for her outstanding mentorship. The 2017 Pharmacology Retreat was held on October 5th, 2017 where it was announced that Dr. Bland was indeed the recipient of the Isakson Award.

The Isakson Award includes a financial component, which will be used to send Brittany to the Gordon Research Conference in July. Congratulations, Brittany!