Kudos to Matteo Ottolini: Recipient of 2019 Wagner Fellowship Award

June 27, 2019 by zrb8mf@virginia.edu

The Pharmacology Department would like to send out huge congratulations to Matteo Ottolini (Pharmacology Grad Student in Dr. Swapnil Sonkusare’s Lab),  for being one of the 12 BIMS students to receive this year’s Wagner Fellowship Award. Thanks to the incredible generosity of  Dr. Robert Wagner and his wife Mary Wagner, this award provides fellowships to graduate students in the School of Medicine.  Dr. Wagner served as Professor and Chair of Microbiology from 1967-1994 and contributed in so many ways to the School of Medicine, UVA, and the scientific community at large.  These fellowships are a lasting tribute to his dedication to student training, his encouragement of young scientists, and his love of UVA.  Students are selected from a highly competitive pool of students based on their outstanding performance in graduate school.

The Wagner Fellowship comes with a one-time $1K stipend supplement and up to $1K in support for professional development.

Please see below the a full list of all 12 BIMS  students that are 2018 recipients:

Rising 3rd year students:

Mark Kreutzberger (Biophysics: Dr. Ed Egelman)
Matteo Ottolini (Pharmacology: Dr. Swapnil Sonkusare)
Lauren Pruett (BME: Dr. Don Griffen)
Jon Suzich (Microbiology: Dr. Anna Cliffe)
Doris Wong (BMG: Dr. Clint Miller)

Rising 4th/5th year students:

Chris Caffalette (Biophysics; Dr. Jochen Zimmer)
Laura Dunphy (BME; Dr. Jason Papin)
Katie Gorick (BME; Dr. Rich Price)
Cat Lammert (Neuroscience Graduate Program; Dr. John Lukens)
Nadine Michel (Neuroscience Graduate Program; Dr. Mike McConnell)
Cassie Robertson (BMG; Dr. Steve Rich)
Carol Rowley (MIC: Dr. Melissa Kendall)