Lukas Tamm is President-elect of the Biophysical Society

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                         Contact: Ellen Weiss

August 13, 2015                                     

Bethesda, MD — The Biophysical Society Announces the Results of its 2015 Elections

Lukas Tamm has been elected President-elect of the Biophysical Society. He will assume the office of President-elect at the 2016 Annual Meeting in Los Angeles, California, and begin his term as President during the 2017 Annual Meeting in New Orleans, Louisiana.

Tamm is a Professor in Molecular Physiology and Biological Physics and Vice-Chair of the Department of Molecular Physiology and Biological Physics at the University of Virginia School of Medicine. Tamm also directs the Center for Membrane Biology at the university. He received his PhD in Biophysics in 1982 from the University of Basel and has been a member of the Biophysical Society since 1988. Tamm has previously served the Society as Secretary, as a member of Council, as a member of the BJ Editorial Board, and as an Associate Editor.

“I am truly honored to have the opportunity to serve as president of the Biophysical Society,” noted Tamm. “Biophysical research continues to provide molecular and cellular foundations for improvements in health care and a better understanding of many biological systems. Biophysical research also continues to develop new cutting edge technologies in the biosciences, ultimately to the betterment of human lives. In order to advance we need to train the biomedical workforce of the future and we need to advocate appropriate support for training and highly innovative research in biophysics. As President, I will ensure the Society continues to be engaged on these issues and to promote the field.”

Four Society members were also elected to serve on Council. They are:

            Jane Clarke, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom;

            Bertrand Garcia-Moreno, Johns Hopkins University

            Arthur Palmer III, Columbia University; and

            Joanna Swain, Bristol-Myers Squibb.

They will begin their three-year terms at the 2016 Annual Meeting.

The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific society established to encourage development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics. The Society promotes growth in this expanding field through its annual meeting, monthly journal, and committee and outreach activities. Its 9000 members are located throughout the U.S. and the world, where they teach and conduct research in colleges, universities, laboratories, government agencies, and industry.