Advocating Science – Biophysical Society’s Lukas Tamm goes to Capitol Hill

Lukas Tamm, President of the Biophysical Society and Director of the Center for Membrane and Cell Physiology engaged politicians on Capitol Hill Bill Gates and Francis Collins (Director of NIH and UVa alumnus who grew up in Staunton and was a UVa Chemistry major) recently spoke to a group of geneticists about compelling advances in […]

F1000 Prime Rating of Excellent for Tamm Lab Journal Article

Reconstitution of calcium-mediated exocytosis of dense-core vesicles¬† Kreutzberger AJB, Kiessling V, Liang B, Seelheim P, Jakhanwal S, Jahn R, Castle JD, Tamm LK. Journal article rated Exceptional by F1000 faculty member Ronald Holz F1000 is composed of 8,000 senior scientists and leading experts in all areas of biology and medicine. The Faculty recommends the most […]

Biochemistry selects Iga Kucharska as the winner of the inaugural Gordon Hammes Scholar Award!

Dr. Iga Kucharska, formerly a postdoctoral scientist with the Tamm Lab was announced as the winner of the inaugural Gordon Hammes Scholar Award by ACS Publications, publishers of Biochemistry.¬† The Gordon Hammes Scholar Award seeks to honor the young scientists responsible for the very best papers published in Biochemistry. From the announcement by Editor-in-Chief, Alanna […]

Congratulations to Alex Kreutzberger for Successfully Defending his Dissertation

Alex successfully defended his PhD dissertation on “Reconstitution of SNARE Mediated Membrane Fusion”.

Biophysics Student of the Year Award – Alex Kreutzberger

I am pleased to announce that Alex Kreutzberger, co-mentored by David Castle and Lukas Tamm, is the winner of the Biophysics Student of the Year Award.¬† Alex received his BS in Chemistry and Biochemistry in 2011 from UNC Wilmington where he worked with Antje Pokorny and Paulo Almeida. He joined the BIMS program in the […]

Alex Kreutzberger wins Student Research Achievement Award at the Biophysical Society Annual Meeting in New Orleans

Congratulations to Alex Kreutzberger for winning the Student Research Achievement Award from the Biophysical Society. Participants had to be the first author on the abstract submitted for presentation and to present the abstract as a poster at the Meeting. Participants were asked to give a three-to-five-minute presentation of their posters to one or more judges. […]