Research Advisory Committee


The Research Advisory Committee (RAC) advises the Dean on strategic research issues, major requests for research program allocations, research core facilities, and general issues concerning research program infrastructure.  The RAC gives high priority to requests for resource allocations in those research areas in which the School can achieve national and international pre-eminence, and which will substantively improve existing programs at the School and University.  The RAC also advises the Dean on the development of School of Medicine policies such as utilization of research space and external consulting activities.  Meetings generally are held twice monthly.


The RAC is comprised of distinguished faculty members who serve three-year terms. Current members (September 2020 – August 2021) include faculty from several clinical and basic science departments and centers:

  • Stefan Bekiranov (Biochemistry)
  • Timothy N. Bullock (Pathology)
  • Mark D. DeBoer (Pediatrics)
  • Uta Erdbruegger (Nephrology)
  • Daniel G. Gioeli (Microbiology)
  • Bijoy Kundu (Radiology)
  • Ani Manichaikul (PHS)
  • Barbara J. Mann (Medicine)
  • Michael Salerno (Medicine)
  • Jung-Bum Shin (Neuroscience)
  • Zhen Yan (Medicine)
  • Hui Zong (Microbiology)

Solicitations for shared equipment

The Dean’s Office solicits applications for shared equipment each spring.  The program announcement is sent to all faculty in late November/early December, with a deadline at the end of December.  Proposals are reviewed by members of the Research Advisory Committee.

RAC By-Laws