Joseph & Frances Larner Chair and Professor of Pharmacology, Dr. Douglas Bayliss Receives 2019 Kadner Award

October 1, 2019 by   |   Leave a Comment

Kudos to Dr. Douglas A. Bayliss, Joseph & Frances Larner Chair and Professor of Pharmacology, for receiving the 2019 Robert J. Kadner Award!

This award honors Dr. Robert J Kadner, an internationally recognized microbiologist whose research on microbial physiology spanned four decades. Dr. Kadner was highly revered by medical and graduate students for his mentorship and teaching at the UVA School of Medicine, where he remained dedicated to education and research up until his death in 2005. Throughout his career, Dr. Kadner was recognized for his strong advocacy of teaching, particularly in the basic sciences, as well as for his mentorship of medical students, graduate students, postdoctoral trainees, and junior faculty.

The Kadner Award recognizes School of Medicine faculty members engaged in basic science or clinical laboratory research who show a strong commitment to teaching in both the classroom and laboratory setting. Dr. Bayliss exemplifies Dr. Kadner’s legacy though outstanding instruction in graduate and medical classrooms as well as through his teaching and mentorship to trainees ranging from undergraduate students to senior professional research staff in the Bayliss Lab. In addition to his education and mentorship of students and trainees, Dr. Bayliss demonstrates exemplary leadership as Chair of the Pharmacology Department. The department is grateful for his leadership and ongoing commitment to excellence in teaching and research!

The Dean’s Award Ceremony will be held on Wednesday, November 6, 2019, from 5-7pm in the Claude Moore Medical Education Building to honor him and other faculty receiving awards.

Pharmers, come out and support our Chair in receiving this well-deserved honor. And be sure to give Dr. Bayliss congrats when you see him around!



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *