Our Division

The Division of Endocrinology and Metabolism

UVA Endocrinology

Zhenqi Liu, MD, Alan Dalkin, MD, and Susan Kirk, MD

The Division of Endocrinology and Metabolism at the University of Virginia has a rich history and tradition of excellence in patient care, education, and research and remains one of the finest endocrinology divisions in the country. The Division currently has 34 faculty members (10 full professors, 6 associate professors, 8 assistant professors, 5 nurse practitioners, and 5 emeritus professors) and 6 endocrine fellows. The Division boasts many previous and current leaders in national professional societies including three presidents of the Endocrine Society (Margaret A. Shupnik, PhD, Robert M. Carey, MD, and Richard J. Santen, MD), one president of the American Diabetes Association (Eugene J. Barrett, MD, PhD), and one president of the Pituitary Society (Mary Lee Vance, MD). Our faculty members strive to provide the best possible care to patients with a variety of hormonal and metabolic disorders and the best training to the next generation of physicians and scientists and make cutting-edge scientific discoveries in both clinical and basic endocrine research.

The Division houses an internationally renowned pituitary/neuroendocrinology program with patients referred here from around the world. We have a robust clinical diabetes program that provides outstanding care for patients with diabetes both in our outpatient clinics and inside the hospital. We have strong expertise in managing patients with a variety of thyroid disorders, endocrine hypertension, adrenal diseases, metabolic bone disorders, and benign breast diseases. We further expanded our clinical portfolio in 2018 and started a diabetes technology clinic, a transgender clinic, and a transplant endocrine program.

Keep up with our Division on Twitter (@UVA_Endocrine)

Interested to hear more about Baby Endo? If so, see link.