Category: News

Huiwang Ai, Ph.D., Congratulations on being selected a Pinn Scholar for 2023-2026!


Huiwang Ai has been selected as a Pinn Scholar for 2023-2026. The Pinn Scholars program is named in honor of Dr. Vivian Pinn who was a graduate of the UVA…

Ahmad Jomaa selected for the 2023 Searle Scholar program supporting high risk, high reward research.


Congratulations to assistant professor Ahmad Jomaa on being selected a 2023 Searle Scholar. Ahmad joins a group of 15 exceptional young faculty in biological, chemical and engineering sciences from top…

Huiwang Ai, PhD Awarded Two Grants From the NIH for $5.3 Million


Huiwang Ai, Ph.D., was honored in the UVa Medicine in Motion newsletter for receiving two new R01 grants totaling $5.3M. We congratulate you Huiwang!

Congratulations to Anne Kenworthy for receiving the Mildred Cohen Award in Biological Chemistry.


The award recognizes and honors scientists at all stages of their careers who have made substantial advances in understanding biological chemistry using innovative physical approaches. Anne’s work beautifully embodies the…

Congratulations to Jochen Zimmer and his lab on their publication in Nature


Congratulations to Jochen Zimmer and his lab on the publication of the structure and mechanism of substrate recognition of hyaluronan synthase in Nature (). Hyaluronan is a ubiquitous acidic glycosaminoglycan…

Congratulating Ahmad Jomaa on the publication of his latest research article in Science


We congratulate Assistant Professor, Ahmad Jomaa, for his latest research article published in the journal Science. Mechanism of signal sequence handover from NAC to SRP on ribosomes during ER-protein targeting…

Jochen Zimmer Named Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator


We congratulate Jochen Zimmer, PhD for being named a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator on September 23, 2021. The HHMI announcement can be found here.  Jochen is one of 33…

CMCP Faculty Herve Agaisse and Peter Kasson named 2021 Pinn Scholars


Two Center faculty members have been named Pin Scholars for 2021. Pinn Scholars are mid-career faculty selected on the basis of their scientific expertise and research productivity, and contributions to…