Previous Clinical Glaucoma Fellows

2020 – 2021

Andrew Pittner, MD
Currently: Virginia Eye Consultants, Norfolk, VA

2019 – 2020

Sara De La Rosa, MD
currently: Prairie Eye & LASIK Center, Decatur, IL

2018 – 2019

Jason C. Zhang, MD
currently: University of Michigan, W.K. Kellogg Eye Center, Ann Arbor, MI

2017 – 2018

(Frank) Stro Ashburn, MD
currently: Eye Associates of Washington, DC

2016 – 2017

Eitan S. Burstein, MD, MS
currently: Danbury Eye Physicians & Surgeons, Danbury, CT

2015 – 2016

Arjun Dirghangi, MD, MHS
currently: Assistant Professor, Glaucoma
UVA Ophthalmology, Charlottesville, VA

2014 – 2015

Jessica E. Chan, MD
currently: MedStar Montgomery Medical Center, Olney, MD

2013 – 2014

Matthew P. Koehler, II, MD
currently: Geisinger Medical Center, Danville, PA

2012 – 2013

J. Ryan McManus, MD
currently: Grand Traverse Ophthalmology Clinic, Traverse City, Michigan

2011 – 2012

Jack Manns, MD
currently: Attending Ophthalmologist
Bassett Medical Center, Cooperstown, NY

2010 – 2011

Meenakshi Chaku, MD
currently: Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology
Loyola University Medical Center, Maywood, IL

2009 – 2010

Scott D. Lawrence, MD
currently: Associate Professor of Ophthalmology
University of North Carolina Campus Health Services, Chapel Hill, NC

2008 – 2009

Michele Scott, MD
currently: private practice, North Carolina

2007 – 2008

John W. Boyle, IV, MD
currently: Acurate Eye Care, Metairie, LA

2006 – 2007

Elliott M, Kanner, MD, PhD
currently: Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology
University of Tennessee Health Science Center, Memphis, TN

2005 – 2006

Norman Denton, MD
currently: private practice: West Memphis, AR

2004 – 2005

Peter J. G. Maris, Jr., MD
currently: Island Eye Surgicenter, Westbury, NY

2003 – 2004

Steven R. Sarkisian, Jr., MD
currently: Clinical Professor of Ophthalmology, Glaucoma Fellowship Director
Dean A. McGee Eye Institute, University of Oklahoma, Oklahoma City, OK

2002 – 2003

Lama Al-Aswad, MD
currently: Associate Professor of Ophthalmology, E. S. Harkness Eye Institute
Columbia University, College of Physicians and Surgeons, New York, NY

1993 – 1994

Martin C. Seremet, MD
Currently: Starling Physicians Eye Center
New Britain, CT

1994 – 1995

Frank Cotter, MD
Currently: Vistar Eye Center, Vision & Surgery Specialists
Roanoke, VA

Previous Glaucoma Research Fellows:

2009 – 2010

Sumalee Boonyaleephan, MD
Currently: Assistant Professor, Department of Ophthalmology
Faculty of Medicine, Srinakharinwirot University, Bangkok, Thailand

2008 – 2009

Salem Abu Al-Ghanam, MD
Currently: Consultant Ophthalmic Surgeon & Glaucoma Surgeon
Ghanam Ophthalmology Eye Clinic, Amman, Jordan

2007 – 2008

Alvaro P. de Carvalho Lupinacci, MD
Currently: State University of Campinas, Faculty of Medical Sciences
Department of Ophthalmology & Otorhinolaryngology, Valinhos, Sao Paulo, Brazil

2005 – 2008

Ivan Marais, MD
Currently: Johannesburg, South Africa

2004 – 2005

Kyoko Ishida, MD
Currently: Associate Professor of Ophthalmology
Toho University Ohashi Medical Center, Tokyo, Japan

2003 – 2004

Naris Kitnarong, MD
Currently: Associate Professor of Ophthalmology, Faculty of Medicine
Siriraj Hospital, Mahidol University, Bangkok, Thailand

2002 – 2003

Adel Al-Jazzaf, MD
Currently: Kuwait City, Kuwait

2001 – 2002

Dawood Al-Rashad, MD
Currently: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia