Christopher P. Holstege, MD

HolstegeCProfessor of Emergency Medicine and Pediatrics
Chief, Division of Medical Toxicology
Executive Director, Elson Student Health Center
Director, Blue Ridge Poison Center

P.O. Box 800699
Charlottesville, VA 22908-0699
Phone: (434) 924-5185
Fax: (434) 971-8657


Recent Awards

  • 2021 The Raven Award, University of Virginia Raven’s Society
  • 2021 American Red Cross Christopher E. Lee Humanitarian Hero award
  • 2019 Hoos Building Bridges Award, University of Virginia


  • Fellowship, Medical Toxicology, Indiana University (1998)
  • Residency, Emergency Medicine, Butterworth Hospital (1996)
  • MD, Wayne State University School of Medicine (1993)
  • BS, Chemistry, Calvin College (1988)

Clinical and Research Interests

  • Clinical Toxicology
  • Chemical agents utilized in terrorism/murder
  • Substance abuse trends in the student populations
  • Emergence of new substances of abuse

Recent Publications

  • Moore CJ, Holstege CP, Papin JA. Metabolic modeling of sex-specific tissue predicts mechanisms of differences in toxicological responses. bioRxiv [Preprint]. 2023 Feb 7:2023.02.07.527430. doi: 10.1101/2023.02.07.527430. PMID: 36798158; PMCID: PMC9934589.
  • Hayden ME, Burns L, Farquhar S, Tanabe KO, Bernheim RG, Holstege CP. Using an Exposure Call Center to Help Mitigate Outbreaks, Such as COVID-19, on a University Campus. J Public Health Manag Pract. 2023 Apr 21. doi: 10.1097/PHH.0000000000001750. Epub ahead of print. PMID: 37097205.
  • Farah R, Rege SV, Cole RJ, Holstege CP. Suspected Suicide Attempts by Self-Poisoning Among Persons Aged 10-19 Years During the COVID-19 Pandemic – United States, 2020-2022. MMWR Morb Mortal Wkly Rep. 2023 Apr 21;72(16):426-430. doi: 10.15585/mmwr.mm7216a3. PMID: 37079475; PMCID: PMC10121270.
  • H.A. Borek, V.R. Hall, K.N. Sibbald, C.P. Holstege, Notorious Poisoners and Poisoning Cases, Editor(s): Philip Wexler, Encyclopedia of Toxicology (Third Edition), Academic Press, 2014, Pages 622–629, ISBN 9780123864550,
  • Holstege CP, King JD. The Expanding Complexity of Poisonings Encountered in Emergency Medicine. Emerg Med Clin North Am. 2022 May;40(2):xv-xvi. doi: 10.1016/j.emc.2022.03.002. PMID: 35461634.
  • Bechtel L, Holstege CP.  Utilizing the Toxicology Laboratory in the Poisoned Patient. Emerg Med Clin N Am, (2022). [Article in Press]
  • Frey, AS, Maniscalco PM, Holstege CP. Chemical Agents Encountered in Protests. Emerg Med Clin N Am. (2022). [Article in Press]
  • Ross JA, Borek HA, Holstege CP, King JD. Toxic Alcohol Poisoning. April 2022 Emerg. Med. Clin. N. Am. DOI: 10.1016/j.emc.2022.01.012 [article in press]
  • Cohen N, Mathew M, Davis A, Brent J, Wax P, Schuh S, Freedman SB, Froberg B, Schwarz E, Canning J, Tortora L, Hoyte C, Koons AL, Burns MM, McFalls J, Wiegand TJ, Hendrickson RG, Judge B, Quang LS, Hodgman M, Chenoweth JA, Algren DA, Carey J, Caravati EM, Akpunonu P, Geib AJ, Seifert SA, Kazzi Z, Othong R, Greene SC, Holstege C, Tweet MS, Vearrier D, Pizon AF, Campleman SL, Li S, Aldy K, Finkelstein Y; ToxIC Pediatric Opioid Exposure Study Group. Predictors of severe outcome following opioid intoxication in children. Clin Toxicol (Phila). 2022 Mar 25:1-6. doi: 10.1080/15563650.2022.2038188. Epub ahead of print. PMID: 35333145.
  • Ross JA, Woodfin MH, Rege SV, Holstege CP. Pediatric suicides reported to U.S. poison centers. Clin Toxicol (Phila). 2022 Mar 4:1-3. doi: 10.1080/15563650.2022.2042013. Epub ahead of print. PMID: 35240919.